Want to Deactivate Your Instagram Account? Here’s How To Do It Without Leaving a Trace

Want to Deactivate Your Instagram Account? Here’s How To Do It Without Leaving a Trace
Profile photo of Heidi Lang, author

Heidi Lang

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2021

Want More Real Instagram Followers?

Is there a difference between deactivating and closing your account? Do you actually want to permanently delete your account or do you just want to take a break from social media? Whether you’re managing a business account or a personal one, there are a number of reasons to want to deactivate your account temporarily or for good. But before you take that big step, you must know what “deactivation” means. 

Want to Deactivate Your Instagram Account? Here’s How To Do It Without Leaving a Trace

Especially if you’re serious about deleting all traces of your account on the web, there are certain measures you need to take to ensure the security of your data. We also advise you to think about this decision multiple times; you might end up regretting this move later, so the better choice is just to temporarily disable it. 

Here’s everything you need to know about deactivating your Instagram account. 

What are your options if you want to leave Instagram?

For many users, social media can be stressful — even toxic. There are circumstances when taking a break from Instagram may be good for your mental and emotional wellbeing. It’s perfectly okay and healthy to want to spend more time in the real world. So what are your options if you want to go offline for a while or for good?

  1. Temporarily disable your account. Disabling or deactivating your account means that your profile, photos, comments, and likes will be hidden from everyone until you reactivate your profile by logging back in. 
  2. Delete your Instagram account. Deleting your account means that your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will be permanently removed. This cannot be undone. 

Your Instagram account may serve as a vital connection to your family and closest friends. All the content you’ve posted represents cherished memories, wonderful insights, and sources of inspiration and joy. Remember that your experiences on Instagram are a mix of both good and bad. Don’t let just the bad ones dictate your decision; the good experiences should hold greater weight. 

Spend a few days weighing the pros and cons of leaving Instagram. If you’re still undecided, the best course of action is to temporarily deactivate your account until you’re 100% certain of what you want to do with it. 

How to deactivate your Instagram account

You can only deactivate or disable your Instagram account from a computer or mobile browser. You won’t be able to do it from your Instagram app. Follow these steps:

  1. Log into Instagram via a computer or mobile browser. If you can’t remember your password, here are some tips for logging in
  2. Click/tap your profile picture, and then “Profile” and “Edit Profile.”
  3. Scroll down and click/tap “Temporarily disable my account” in the bottom right.
  4. You’ll be asked the question: Why are you disabling your account? Select an option from the drop-down menu that appears next to it and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you’ve selected an answer and re-entered your password.
  5. Tap/click “Temporarily Disable Account.”

When you’re ready to rejoin the world of Instagram, all you have to do is log in and your account will be automatically reactivated. 

Alternatively, you can customize who can view your account and posts by setting your posts to private or blocking people.

If you’re managing a business account and you feel like a strategy reboot is necessary to gain the growth momentum you need, you can sign up with Path Social to enjoy organic and lasting growth. Don’t let all your previous efforts go to waste by deleting your account!

How to delete your Instagram account

If you delete your account voluntarily, you may still be able to use the same username to create a new account as long as it hasn’t been taken by another user. However, if your account was deleted by Instagram for violating Community Guidelines, the option to use the same username may no longer be available. 

For security reasons, Instagram can’t delete your account or any account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into the account you want to delete and submit a request for permanent deletion. Before permanently deleting your account, you may want to download a copy of your Instagram information. After 30 days from your account deletion request, you will no longer have access to Instagram’s Data Download tool and your account and all your information will be erased forever.

You will need to log into your account via a computer or mobile browser to process the request for the permanent deletion of your account. You won’t be able to do this via the Instagram app. Follow these steps:

  1. Log into your account and to the Delete Your Account page.
  2. You will be asked the question: Why are you deleting your account? Choose an answer from the dropdown menu that appears next to it and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you’ve selected an answer and re-entered your password.
  3. Click/tap “Delete [username].”

If you want to delete a different account:

  1. Go to “Delete Your Account” page and click/tap the username in the top right. 
  2. Click/tap the gear icon next to “Edit Profile.”
  3. Select “Log out.”
  4. Log in as the account you want to delete and follow the instructions above. 

Take note that during the 30 days from your account deletion request, all your account information remains subject to Instagram’s Terms of Use and Data Policy; but rest assured that it won’t be accessible to other Instagram users. 

The deletion process may take up to 90 days to complete. According to Instagram’s Help Center:

“Copies of your content may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about this in our Data Policy.”

Want to Deactivate Your Instagram Account? Here’s How To Do It Without Leaving a Trace

Final Thoughts

If you absolutely need a time out from social media for your wellbeing, take it! When deciding whether to just temporarily deactivate your account or permanently delete it, ask yourself these questions: Would you still want the option to go back, view your most valuable content, and maybe even reconnect with people who matter to you the most? Or are you willing to give up all the memories and experiences you acquired from your Instagram account? 

A temporary deactivation is always the better option; if you’re 100% sure that you want to delete your account for good, however, you may want to download all your data first. 

If you’re managing a business account and have been struggling with your growth and marketing strategies, try a different approach before deleting your account permanently and starting again from scratch. Give Path Social a try and experience organic and lasting growth — with authentic followers who are genuinely interested and engaged! Sign up now!